Skip to content

phpStorm IDE review

November 14, 2014

I’ve used phpStorm for sometime now. I’ve adopted it for FusionPBX under an opensource license in 2012 and I just don’t want to use anything else.
phpStorm is:

    • Fast.
    • Feature rich.
    • Intuitive.

phpStorm has also a very nice auto-complete/suggestion feature.

I’m a vim guy and I do still use it sometimes, but when the codebase starts to grow I usually switch myself to phpStorm very quickly. I don’t feel the need to experiment other IDE at all. The only thing that makes me switch to vim sometimes is it’s powerful regex support. Besides that everything is great.

I also use phpStorm for Lua programming using the lua plugin which is also very nice and overall I think it has everything I usually need.

Productivity has also increased after the switch to phpStorm. All the other PHP/web IDEs that I’ve tried in the last years, say: Aptana, Eclipse And NetBeans might be good, but in the end phpStorm is just better.

Some of the most appreciated features are:

  • enforcement of up to date PHP development practices
  • flexibility
  • fast search
  • easy to use debugger
  • easy to build feature
  • terminal
  • plugin support
  • GIT support.

Just give it a try.

From → development, PHP, web

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

